Unfriended

Was I blindsided or what? There are folks who don’t feel that social media should be used as a political forum.  I disagree, but they have a right to their opinion and they can ignore me if they so chose.

Me? I feel that we are social beings and we are free to show our lives-or at least a snapshot-of our lives if we want-on social media. My posts and responses aren’t loud, thoughtless or inappropriate; they are well thought-out and researched and not given to rant, rave or apoplexy.

Some friends like to post their grand-children’s photos; Me? I like to discuss and post my political views on social media; but I don’t feel that these two are mutually exclusive and I believe they both can be done responsibly. I don’t argue, I discuss and state the facts as I’ve read or researched them, I think you’d be right if you recognized me as one of the least confrontational and most respecting conservative bloggers.

However, this evening I was ‘unfriended’ by a personal friend. Shoot me now, but I think that who is at the helm of this ship which has (in my opinion) been rudderless the past 7 years, to be of import; in fact, I’ll go out on a limb here, that this election (be it local, statewide or national) to be a tad more important than those first day of school photos and toothless grin photos of children I’ll never meet. Either way, the two are not mutually exclusive.

Children are fun; they’re also our country’s future and worth the investment we make in them. I know Mom and Dad have had a hard day at work and may consider political posts as relaxing as a trip to the dentist. But, television channel-remotes are for just those situations. Oh, “you don’t like that show” Well, one wonderful thing about life in America is that if you don’t like what’s on, hit the up or down button on that remote and a different reality competes for your friendship!

I don’t get my undies in a bundle, I don’t sling mud or swear at people when I author or answer political posts. I state facts and make it known that if someone can pose other facts that cause me to change my mind, then my mind is changed.

At the risk of sounding melodramatic, is the future of our country, the obligation to our children in which we invest so much, not worth time, not worth feeling a bit uncomfortable?

Without risking the melodramatic, is the future of our country and the direction it is going, not worth time, not worth feeling a tad uncomfortable?

8 thoughts on “Unfriended

    1. I couldn’t believe that this person was someone I’ve known for years. I don’t discuss heatedly, but the people I discuss DO get carried away sometimes. I used to be so tame on my site, but people never came until I developed an edge!!

      Liked by 1 person

    1. D, thanks for the reblog. Couldn’t believe that people do that. I mean, if I was rude, that would be one thing and I should expect that. But, I’m anything but that! Thanks so much.

      Like

Comments are closed.