Coming to You Soon!

“Watch Your Mailbox!
I just wanted to let you know that today I received my 2012 Social Security Stimulus Package…….
It contained:

  • two tomato seeds,
  • cornbread mix,
  • a prayer rug,
  • a machine to blow smoke up my ass,
  • 2 discount coupons to KFC,
  • an “Obama Hope & Change” bumper sticker,
  • and a “Blame it on Bush” poster for the front yard.

The directions were in Spanish. Yours should be coming around the pike real soon!!”

I would have put this in the joke section because it is funny, but funny often provides a lot of grist for the mill. Sure, we should be more self-reliant by growing our own tomatoes. But do self-reliance and  making cornbread from a box-mix? Doing for ourselves AT THE SAME TIME AS having someone do for us by making CORNBREAD FROM A BOX? This needs to have sparked a national dialog 50 years ago, though my mind is pretty well made-up. I know, what a cliché to hang my hat onto,  “my mind is made up, don’t confuse me with the facts!”

Then we have the prayer rug which says to me that SOMEONE doesn’t think that we all tolerate people of other religions well; OR DOES IT? Other religions were ‘around’ well-before Christianity, which is one of the newest religions on the earth.  I know for myself, that I want others to tolerate my faith just like I tolerate theirs, that religion is a very personal thing. Government has no business in the religious preferences business; just as it has no business in the sexual preference ‘market.’   They only reason the government has ANY reason in these ‘arenas’ is when freedoms granted to us by the Constitution are at stake.

We fell for the ‘hope and change’ stuff 3 1/2 years ago and found out the hard way that it really meant ‘MORE OF POLITICS AS USUAL.’ Actually, it meant worsening of politics as usual as the pols we often deal with are Chicago-style politicians who for the most part, know one loyalty: MONEY.

Discount tickets for KFC. Deep-fried, the more calories, the better? But, what about Michelle Obama‘s war on obesity. Has this been trumped by ‘the-more-people-who-keel-over-of-a-heart-attack, the-fewer-people-have-to-be-covered-by-Obamacare-or-a-single-payer-system?’

The ‘BLAME IT ON BUSH poster for the front yard seeks to remind us of EVERYTHING  that we’ve heard of in the last 3 1/2 years; ‘INHERIT’ is another ‘catch-all!’ What about a increasing a 10 trillion dollar debt to $15 dollars is palatable by ANYONE’S standards. That same $5 trillion dollar debt was unpatriotic in the past; but why is it acceptable now?

