A Non-Golfer Views the Masters

For 4 days this time of year, my husband is glued to the TV; or as was said in the  play, “Defending the Cavemen,” he “BECOMES THE TV!” Over the years, me, not-a-golfer, except for the occasional round of mini-golf, becomes increasingly interested.

Initially, I protested about how golf was SO MUCH not a sport, how it didn’t deserve a berth in the Olympics and it sure didn’t deserve television coverage as just that. Then I tried the ‘if it doesn’t-draw-blood-or-require-endurance, agility and muscle strength, it couldn’t be a sport!”

But, as time passed, I found myself, dare-I-admit-this?-watching little snippets of the game, as I peaked over the top of my laptop and took in the beauty of the course. The skies were so blue and the grass so well-cared for.

I don’t understand, terms like ‘par’ and ‘birdie’ and ‘bogie;’ though I just heard my husband (who ‘became the TV’ this Easter Sunday) claim that a ‘double-Eagle’ was a good, if not a grand thing!

Over the years,  I began to respect (somewhat) what goes on inside that mind of a golfer as he/she competes. Not a whole lot different than when I competed in what I know to be ‘real’ sport. Since the mind games are alike, I took this too it’s next logical conclusion and state reluctantly, “golf is sport.”

But, I digress; back to the Master’s. My favorite, because he’s so nice and such a class ‘act,’ Phil Mickelson, didn’t win. New blood, won and I watched the ushering in of another green jacket winner, Bubba Watson. Another year more golf-savvy and another name!

Bubba Watson signing autographs on the putting...
Bubba Watson signing autographs on the putting green of the Congressional Country Club during the Earl Woods Memorial Pro-Am prior to the 2007 AT&T National tournament. (Photo credit: Wikipedia)

