Are the God’s Angry with Us?

Are the Gods angry with us? I’m noting that we seem to have more natural disasters than we had when I was a child. Or when I was a child, was my time and energy taken up with more noble pursuits like making sure we had a kickball game lined up, playing in the next door neighbor’s tree house?

I seemed to have missed the earthquakes, floods, and other natural disasters. These disasters aren’t more disastrous now, but as an adult I deal with the consequences. No one talked of ‘global warming’ then-at least; or if they did, I was  too busy playing with dolls to take it seriously..

Hesitant to put those glory days aside, we were also eager to ‘grow up!’ But little did we know that growing up carried with it heartaches and responsibilities that our parents sheltered us as much as they could, Now, we’re the parents, sheltering our children. Most of our adult lives we’ve lead disaster free; but then I think of the tsunami’s, the Exxon-Valdez oil spill, the BP oil spill and the tragedy of 911. Who could forget the devestating tornados in Missouri last year and last week’s tornados?

Seeing the devastation and the tractor-trailers flying through the air was a chilling reminder of how safe our days really are and how lucky we are to live in this OUR LAND. “…The land of the free, and the home of the brave…”

 

